One flag to rule them all…?

My last blog seems to be ages ago so now, finally, the second part of the flag discussion!

As I promised, I would like to show you a few designs that were posted online for proposition. I actually wanted to say that there are a lot of rubbish propositions, but then I thought those might be made by children, so I keep shush because I love children and it would break my heart if they would read this here (ok no children ever will read this, but anyway) and feel very upset: so children, please keep going, you’re doing great!

Up until today there have been posted over 3000 designs. Great job NZ! Just imagine how awesome it must be if you design a flag for you country and then eventually they chose your design. What a great honor!

So now I show you my favorites:

#1

1465-final-nz-silver-fern-flag

First of all: I love the silverfern and i love the colour blue (it is my favourite colour). So there is no chance that this is NOT in my personal Top 3.

In class we were shown a version of the white silverfern on black background which is normally used on sporting events. I also like this flagdesign very much, but because of the black-and-whiteness and the closeness to ISIS, this will (in my opinion) probably not make it eventually.

So much the better that now somebody though of combining the common NZ silverfern design with my favourite colour – I probably have to marry this guy (or girl)! 🙂

The stars on the blue background obviously relate to the actual NZ flag, so there is still a connection to it. This mixture of tradition (also the colours of the Union Jack: blue, white, red) and culture (silverfern, sporting events) looks just perfect to me!

So: Go NZ!

#2

6516-nzflag5

So this is my Number 2. As a non-Newzealander, allow me to admit that when I first was thinking about what should be on a New Zealand flag that represents or symbolises the country, I though of the kiwi (I hope New Zealanders don’t hate me for that stereotypical thinking…).

I mean it is the same with Germany. Probably if you ask a New Zealander (or any foreigner, … or a German…) „what should be on the German flag that represents the country and its culture“ they would say „beer“ – or at least I wouldn’t be mad if they’d say it, although I hate beer so bad.

So please NZ, don’t take it personal, I just love this design because this totally represents the first image that came into my mind when I though about a NZ flag. And I mean, one of you New Zealanders at least liked that design, too (yes, the designer, and it wasn’t me!).

#3

10639-equality7

Although this is not really one of my favourites, I wanted to find a design that somehow resembles and picks up maori traditions. Unfortunatly there aren’t many designs on the page with maori designs that I personally like, so I chose this one to represent my intention.

For those who don’t know, there is a national maori flag, the flag of „Tino Rangatiratanga“:

maori flag

I don’t really like the colourcombination of red,black and white and to be honest, I don’t really fancy the design, but I like keeping traditions in some way and I would love to find a design that uses the maori design in a nice way. I also really like the meaning behind the maori design, you can look it up here: http://www.nzhistory.net.nz/media/photo/national-maori-flag

I think the most popular designs are those that are not too overloaded but contain common known and cherished designs like the silverfern, the (four) stars, maori designs, and the colours blue/red/white/black (probably green), maybe also the kiwi design. It also needs to be considered that the flag shouldn’t have too many details, because often children at school colour flags and/or for sporting events people colour and draw the flag on their face/cheek so the design shouldn’t be too detailed. It might be best if it is easy to draw.

There a loads of more designs and I highly recommend you to click through them. It is worth it and it made me laugh sometimes because some designs are so cute and some are just funny, like this:

10510-werock

The titel of this flag is „we rock“ – yeah, NZ, you definitely rock!

So keep rocking 😉

PS: the designs were taken from this website, where you can also be creative and upload your own design. If you do so, why don’t you let me be part of your idea and blog your design here as well?

https://www.govt.nz/browse/engaging-with-government/the-nz-flag-your-chance-to-decide/gallery/

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar